BMC’s Yawkey building doors are now closed as an entrance as part of our ongoing efforts to enhance our campus and provide you with the best clinical care.

All patients and visitors on our main campus must enter our hospital via Shapiro, Menino, or Moakley buildings, where they will be greeted by team members at a new centralized check-in desk before continuing to the hospital. We are excited to welcome you and appreciate your patience as we improve our facilities.

Children's HealthWatch, headquartered at Boston Medical Center, has named Poor People’s Campaign: A National Call for Moral Revival their 2022 Children's HealthWatch Champion. The annual award is given to "a champion who advocates for evidence-based policies that help children thrive." Rev. Dr. William J. Barber II and Rev. Dr. Liz Theoharis, co-chairs of Poor People’s Campaign, will be presented the award at the organization's 5th annual Fall Celebration to take place virtually on Tuesday, November 29, from 6 PM-7 PM EST.

Children's HealthWatch Executive Director, Dr. Stephanie Ettinger de Cuba, states that Poor People’s Campaign embodies the spirit of the award, "…in their conviction that all people deserve to be healthy, thrive, and financially secure, regardless of who they are or where they come from. This basic but ever true premise underscores everything The Poor People’s Campaign does to promote equity, economic justice and to eradicate systemic racism.”

The Poor People’s Campaign, conceived and organized in 1968 by Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. and the Southern Christian Leadership Conference, has long championed policies that benefit children and families economically and promote racial equity. Their advocacy around fair wages, quality housing, education and healthcare, and other areas of impact, seeks to ensure that economic policies improve child and family health, help lift families out of poverty, and support equity.

"We share the Poor People’s Campaign’s dedication to fight against inequity and racism,” says Dr. Ettinger de Cuba. “We feel honored to stand with them in advocating for evidence-based policies that build economic security and promote health for every child and every family."

Past recipients of this award include U.S. Congressman James McGovern (D-MA 2nd District), Diane Yentel, Executive Director of the National Low-Income Housing Coalition, U.S. Congresswoman Ayanna Pressley (D-MA 7th District), and U.S. Congresswoman Rosa DeLauro (D-CT 3rd District).

For more information about the event and to register, visit

Media Contact:
Return to BMC News