Marilyn Augustyn, MD – Division Director, Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics

Sarabeth Broder-Fingert, MD MPH – Vice Chair for Clinical Research in Pediatrics – University of Massachusetts Medical School

Shari Krauss, MA MPH – Program Director, The Autism Program

Alexander Friedman, MPH – Program Manager, The Autism Program

Jacqueline McKendry

Jacqueline McKendry, MS, BCBA, LABA - Behavior Specialist, The Autism Program

Elizabeth Ferriero

Elizabeth Ferriero, BA, CEIS-Autism Resource Specialist, The Autism Program


TEACH (Teens Educating, Advocating, and Collaborating in Healthcare) is comprised of youth with ASD who convene quarterly to share critical insights on healthcare experiences to inform the work of the Autism Friendly Initiative.

  • Gavin Zhang
  • Tris Wideman
  • Declan Woodring
  • Olivia Gaffney 
  • Will Palmucci 
  • and our other incredible TEACH members! 

Scientific Advisory Board

The Autism Friendly Initiative’s Scientific Advisory Board provides guidance, support, and insight to ensure that interventions are driven by best practice. 

  • Pam Palmucci, MSW, LCSW – Autism Program PLAN Parent, Autism Friendly Initiative Steering Committee member, and Co-Manager of Simpatico Mentoring Program at the Asperger/Autism Network
  • Molly Ann Duggan, MS, CCLS – Child Life Manager, Child Life, Boston Medical Center
  • Erika Crable, MPH PhD – Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, University of California San Diego 
  • Lauren Betancourt, MPH – Senior Manager of Population Health, Boston Medical Center Health System
  • Beth Jerskey, PhD - Adjunct Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, The Warren Alpert Medical School of Brown University 
  • Oluwatobi Abubakare - Self-advocate and clinical psychology PhD student at Indiana University Bloomington
  • Jocelyn Kuhn, PhD - Licensed Psychologist, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics, Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine
  • Belinda O'Hagan, MA - PhD student, Behavioral and Social Health Sciences, Brown University School of Public Health

Steering Committee

The Autism Friendly Initiative's Steering Committee is a multidisciplinary group of hospital and community leaders that assists with strategic planning, decision-making, and overall optimization of the Initiative. 

  • Alexander O'Leary – Manager of Public Safety
  • Audrey Christiansen, MD - Developmental & Behavioral Pediatrics
  • Barbie Mullin, RN – Nurse – Pediatric Emergency Department
  • Beth Jerskey, PhD - Adjunct Assistant Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior, Brown University
  • Bob Vinci, MD – Chairman, Pediatrics
  • Christine Naoum-Heffernan, CPNP – Nurse Educator, Pediatric Neurology, Pulmonology, Allergy, Pain Clinics
  • Dana Rubin, MD, MSW – Psychiatrist, Pediatrician, Departments of Pediatrics and Child Psychiatry
  • Eileen Costello, MD – Chief of Ambulatory Pediatrics, Medical Director, Pediatric Primary Care
  • Elizabeth Hutton, MD – Medical Director, Pediatric Inpatient Unit; Hospitalist, Internal Medicine and Pediatrics
  • Jack Maypole, MD – Director, Comprehensive Care Program (CCP), Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
  • Jodi Wenger, MD – Pediatrician, Comprehensive Care Program, Developmental and Behavioral Pediatrics
  • Karen Kames – BMC Board Member
  • Katie Jordan, LCSW - Clinical Social Worker, Boston Medical Center
  • Kristin Long, PhD - Director, Child & Family Health Laboratory, Boston University
  • Laurie Douglass, MD - Section Chief, Division of Pediatric Neurology; Director, Pediatric Epilepsy
  • Molly Ann Duggan, MS, CCLS – Child Life Manager, Child Life
  • Pam Kuzia, RN – Sedation Nurse - Pedi Sedation
  • Pam Palmucci – PLAN Parent & Scientific Advisory Board member
  • Sheryl Katzanek – Director, Patient Advocacy
  • Soukaina Adolphe, MD – Pediatrician, Pediatrics
  • Zachary Houston, MS, BCBA, LABA - Assistant Director for ABA, Boston Public Schools