Awards and Grants

Faculty and staff at the Grayken Center are often recognized for their innovative work. Find recent awards and grant funding here.



Americas Essential Hospitals - Access and Quality for All

  • America’s Essential Hospitals, Gage Award: Elisha Wachman, MD

Network for Excellence in Health Innovation

  • Network for Excellence in Health Innovation, Innovator In Health: Colleen LaBelle, RN

Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine

  • Society for Adolescent Health and Medicine, 2018 Hilary E.C. Millar Award for Innovative Approaches to Adolescent Health Care: The CATALYST Program at Boston Medical Center (Medical Director: Sarah Bagley, MD)



  • AMERSA Betty Ford Award: Colleen T. Labelle, MSN, RN-BC, CARN
  • 2017 AMERSA Excellence In Mentorship Award: Alexander Y. Walley, MD MSc

American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry

  • American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry: John Renner, MD

American College of Physicians

  • American College of Physicians, Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: Jeffrey Samet, MD, FACP
  • American College of Physicians, Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award from The Rosenthal Family Foundation: Project ASSERT

Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

  • Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce, 2017 Ten Outstanding Young Leaders: Sarah Bagley, MD



  • National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA)
    • Jeffrey Samet, Pilot Study of Opioid-receptor Antagonists to Reduce Pain and Inflammation among HIV-Infected Persons with Alcohol Problems
    • Jeffrey Samet, ST. PETER HIV-Alcohol, Protein Biomarkers and Cardiovascular Disease Risk
    • Eric Devine, Lacosamide effects on alcohol self administration and craving in heavy drinkers
  • Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
    • Tae Woo (Ted) Park and Colleen Labelle, The Massachusetts Model of MAT for Patients with Co-Occurring Mental Disorders (4MD)
    • Colleen Labelle, State Technical Assistance Team Education and Support (STATES)
    • Martha Vibbert and Megan Sandel, State Opioid Grant
  • National Institute on Drug Abuse (NIDA)
    • Jeffrey Samet, Advancing Clinical Research Training within Addiction Residency Programs
    • Sabrina Assoumou, Engaging young people who inject drugs into HCV and HIV care
    • Benjamin Linas, Accelerating the Pace of Drug Abuse Research Using Existing Data (R01)
  • Academic Pediatric Association
    • Yuan He, National trends in substance use and corresponding trends in child maltreatmen
    • Scott Hadland, Developing a Collaborative Care Model of Office-Based Opioid Treatment for Adolescents
  • Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
    • Marc LaRochelle, Heroin use and overdose following changes to individual-level opioid prescribing
  • The Eunice Kennedy Shriver National Institute of Child Health and Human Development (NICHD)
    • Elisha Wachman and Kelley Saia, Study on the safety, efficacy, pharmacokinetics, and pharmacogenomics of extended-release naltrexone in pregnant women. 
  • University of Baltimore, Center for Drug Control Policy and Enforcement
    • Alexander Walley, Benjamin Linas, and Marc Larochelle, Forecasting the Impact of Corrections-based Control Policy and Enforcement
  • Peter F. McManus Charitable Trust
    • Timothy Naimi, The Impact of Alcohol Policies on Fatalities from Alcohol-Involved Crashes Below the Legal Limit
  • Medtronic Foundation (Charities Aid Foundation America)
    • Robert Saper, Innovations in Non-Pharmacologic Approaches to Pain Management for the Underserved
  • New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation
    • Alexander Walley, Addiction Consult Service TTA
  • AIDS Action Committee
    • Johnson, Peer Driven HIV Education and Prevention in MSM Injection Drug Users and Injection Drug Users Who Engage in Transactional Sex
  • Jack Satter Foundation
    • Sarah Bagley, CATALYST Clinic
  • Office of Minority Health (DHHS)
    • Ricardo Cruz, Project RECOVER (Referral, Engagement, Case management, and Overdose preVention Education in Recovery)